30 Day Challenge

images

Over the past year I have been doing a lot of thinking and talking about making my writing a priority. What I have not been doing is much writing. I started this blog and had big plans to write everyday and change the world one reader at a time. I wanted to find common ground with other women through my words. Long story short, I have not done any of that. So in an effort to spark my creativity I have decided that for the next 30 days I will write at least once. I will follow a prompt or free write a journal entry. I will type it, write it, even make a memo on my phone. The point is that I practice my art at least once a day. The goal of this challenge is not to write a novel (which I totally want to accomplish one day), the point is to make writing apart of my daily life again.

Back before I found all the distractions of young life that lead to the responsibilities of adulthood; I wrote everyday. I would watch NBA games and write game summaries and personal interest stories about the players. Mind you this was pre internet so I brought a lot of newspapers for research (who buys newspapers anymore). I filled my time with my passion. I want to find that passion again. I hope that the 30 day challenge will help me with that.

Now I will be completely honest, I don’t think that I will make a blog post each night. After work and kids, some nights a computer screen is the last thing I want to look at. I will however attempt to make more posts on a more frequent basis. Funny, I’m probably only making this promise to myself, I truly don’t think I have any followers, but it doesn’t matter. I will strive to write this blog with the same passion and focus I had when I wrote those sports articles so many years ago. No one ever read those either.

Leave a Reply

